top of page

"The Northern Lights are in my mind"

Completely mesmerised by the Northern Lights.

So, a milestone birthday approached and what better way to embrace it than to cross something off my bucket list and plan a trip to Iceland!

To say I was excited about going was an absolute understatement! Since the age of 5, when I read a book that my mum had won at a prize-giving day at school, I have longed to see the Northern Lights, or to give them their correct name: Aurora Borealis! The book in question was 'The Eskimo Twins' and it was written by Lucy Fitch Perkins. There was a whole chapter in the book, dedicated to the NL and it made something resonate in me and I found myself longing to go.

Sampling the delicious soup at Svarta Kaffid, Reyjkavik

It didn't disappoint! Iceland is such a beautifully mystical place, that I can forgive them for the scarceness of alcohol and the extortionate prices! The Blue Lagoon delivered above and beyond my expectations and we fell in love with the quaintness of Reyjkavik town. But for me, the absolute icing and cherry on the cake was to take a trip out at night, stand on Icelandic soil and witness the captivating colours and movement of the lights as they dance around the earth. It was something that will definitely remain with me for eternity. I feel so incredibly lucky that I got to see them, and also that I got to see them with my family by my side.

Just outside the Blue Lagoon, Iceland

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page